Yamhill County’s many school districts have more than 20 board seats that are up for election this year. The filing period for Oregon School Board elections opened on Monday February 8. The deadline to file either a petition or declaration of candidacy this year is 5pm March 18th, 2021.

Board members are elected to four year terms and roughly half of each board is elected every two years. To be a candidate you must be a registered voter and have lived in the district for one year immediately preceding the election.

To learn more about becoming a candidate review the Guide for Oregon Board Candidates pamphlet.

Oregon School Board Association recently held a couple of informative webinars about running for a board seat, roles and and responsibilities nd expectations, authorities and limits of school boards, and more. Recordings of the webinars are available at Get On Board Informational Session (26 minutes) and Get On Board Panel Discussion (59 minutes)

Links to each District’s Board website, with the seats are up for election listed with the incumbent:

Amity School Board

  • Position 1: Ryan Jones
  • Position 2: Tim Haarsma
  • Position 4: Matthew Foertsch

Dayton School Board

  • Position 1: Vacant
  • Position 4: Raylinda Price
  • Position 7: Isaac Kearns

McMinnville School Board

  • Position 1: Tim Roberts
  • Position 2: Barbara Carter
  • Position 3: Carson Benner

Newberg School Board

  • Zone 1: Ron Mock
  • Zone 4: Ines Pena
  • Zone 5: Bob Woodruff

Sheridan School Board

  • Position 1: Michael Griffith
  • Position 2: Larry Deibel
  • Position 3: Samantha Lonne Bagby
  • Position 5: Scott Burke

Willamina School Board

  • Position 2: Clinton Coblentz
  • Position 3: Ken Onstot
  • Position 5: Angela Fasana

Yamhill-Carlton School Board

  • Position 1: Jami Egland
  • Position 4: William Bibb
  • Position 5: Ken Watson

If you are interested in running for a board seat you will need to submit a Candidate Filing (aka SEL190) form with the Yamhill County Clerk. You’ll need to decide between paying the $10 filing fee or collecting 25 signatures on a Candidate Signature Sheet (form SEL121). You can also download the New Candidate’s Quick Info Pack from the Yamhill County Clerk’s Candidate Resource Page.